Though cross-reactivity can happen, many people who are allergic to cow’s milk find that they can drink and eat dairy products made from goat milk. The reason is, each species has slightly different proteins in their milk and, of those that are the same, different proportions. More information can be found here:  http://askdrsears.com/html/3/t032400.asp.

Goat milk, ice cream, cheese, and other products are great alternatives for allergic individuals who love the taste of milk — a taste that isn’t always satisfied with non-animal milk sources such as rice, soy, and almonds.

Some stores do sell goat milk, but consider buying locally or purchasing your own dairy goat.

Advertisements